From Awareness Times Newspaper in Freetown

Breaking News
Sierra Leone President Reshuffles His Cabinet
Feb 27, 2009, 23:23

By virtue of the powers vested in him under Section 53 and pursuant to the provisions of Section 56 of the Constitution of Sierra Leone 1991, His Excellency the President of Sierra Leone has just announced the appointment of the following Ministers and deputy Ministers:
Finance and Economic Development:
Dr. Samura Kamara (Currently the Bank Governor)

Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation:
Mrs. Zainab Hawa Bangura
Attorney-General and Minister of Justice
Mr. Abdul Serry-Kamal
Information and Communications
Alhaji Ibrahim Ben Kargbo

Mineral Resources
Alhaji Alpha Saahid Bakarr Kanu (former Presidential Affairs)

Health and Sanitation
Mr. Sheku Tejan Koroma (former Deputy Health Minister)

Agriculture, Food Security & Forestry
Dr. Sam Sesay

Presidential and Public Affairs
Mr. Joseph Koroma (formerly of UNIDO)

Works, Housing and Infrastructure
Mr. Alimamy P. Koroma (former Trade Minister)
Lands, Country Planning and the Environment
Dr. Dennis Sandi
Major Rtd. Alfred Palo Conteh 

Internal Affairs, Local Government and Rural Development
Mr. Dauda Sulaiman Kamara
Marine Resources and Fisheries
Haja Afsatu Kabba (former Energy Minister)

Energy and Water Resources
Prof. Ogunlade Davidson (Just two weeks ago was approved to be Chairman of Sierra Leone Environmental & Protection Agency. He has served on a prestigious Nobel-winning UN Panel of Experts)


Tourism and Cultural Affairs
Mr. Hindolo Sumanguru Trye
Social Welfare, Gender and Childrens' Affairs
Dr. Soccoh Kabia (former Health Minister)
Education, Youth & Sports
Dr. Minkailu Bah

Employment and Social Security
Mr. Minkailu Mansaray

Trade and Industry
Mr. David Carew (former Finance Minister)
Transport and Aviation
Capt. Allieu Pat Sowe (had been acting since Kemoh Sesay was sent on suspension)
Minister of State, Office of the Vice President
Mr. Leonard Balogun Koroma
Resident Minister, East: Mr. William Juana Smith
Resident Minister, South: Mr. Musa Tarawali
Resident Minister, North: Mr. Alie Kamara

Finance and Economic Development
1. Dr Richard Konteh
2. Mr Momodu Kargbo
Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
Mr. Vandi Chidi Minah
Information and Communications
Ms. Saidata Sesay (popular APC Radio Broadcaster and sister of detained cocaine trafficking suspect Ahmed Sesay)

Mineral Resources
Mr Abdul Ignosis Koroma

Health and Sanitation
Mr. Mohamed Daudis Koroma (former Deputy Information Minister)
Agriculture, Food Security and Forestry
1. Mr. Ali Badara Mansaray
2. Mr. Lovell Thomas
Works, Housing and
Mr. Abdul Babagaleh Barrie

Lands, Country Planning and the Environment
Mr. Syl Goba
Internal Affairs, Local Government and Rural Development
1. Mr. Ibrahim Kaloko
2. Mr. Raymond Kabia

Marine Resources and Fisheries
Ms. Rosaline Oya Sankoh

Energy and Water Resources
Mr. Martin Bash Kamara

Tourism and Cultural Affairs
Mr. Hassan Mansaray

Social Welfare, Gender and Childrens Affairs
Ms. Jeneh Kandeh
Education, Youth and Sports
Dr. Algasimu Jah
Dr. Lansana Nyallay

Employment and Social Security
Mr. Moijueh Kaikai (Quit PMDC to become APC)

Trade and Industry
Ms. Mabinty Daramy

Transport and Aviation
Mr. Sylvester Osmond Hanciles
With the exception of those retained in office as Ministers and Deputy Ministers, all new appointments are subject to approval by Parliament whilst in order to ensure continuity of government, outgoing Ministers and Deputy Ministers are advised to remain in post where necessary until the new appointees have been confirmed by Parliament and have taken the oath of office. This is what happened in 2007 when former ministers of the erstwhile SLPP Kabbah Government had stayed in post until their successors had taken oaths of office.

© Copyright 2005, Freetown, Sierra Leone.