From Awareness Times Newspaper in Freetown

APC Wins Kono District Council Election
Dec 15, 2010, 17:42

Chief Electoral Commissioner of the National Electoral Commission (NEC), Dr. Christiana Thorpe has declared APCs Diana Konomanyi as winner of the Kono District Council Chairmanship election.

The announcement of the final certified result was done on Tuesday 14th December 2010.

Diana Konomanyi bagged 21,954 votes; SLPPs Saa Foa Matturie polled 7,525 votes; NDAs Rachael Yonga got 1,416 votes; whilst PMDCs Emmanuel Jumissa polled only 585 votes.

Turnout stands at 26%. This means only 35,204 people voted out of the registered 131,161.     

Meanwhile, the newly elected Kono District Council Chairperson, Diana Konomanyi has promised the people of Kono that she will ensure the construction of a stadium and provision of pipe borne water in Kono.

© Copyright 2005, Freetown, Sierra Leone.