From Awareness Times Newspaper in Freetown

SLPP Joins APC to declare a new City in Port Loko
By Jeneba V. Kabba
May 31, 2017, 17:14

The House of Parliament has yesterday 30th May 2017, amended the 2004 Local Government Act in a unanimous decision by both sides of the aisle.


Opposition SLPP and Ruling APC elected Parliamentarians all have now legislated that there shall be a brand new city in the North Western axis of the country inside Port Loko. In addition, the two new districts of Falaba and Karene which were legislated few months back under the Provinces (Administrative Division) Order, 2017 and other related matters, will also now have Local Government Councils with elected councillors and District Chair.

A news dispatch from Public Relations Department of Parliament said the parliamentarians debated and passed into law the Bill entitled “The Local Government Amendment Act, 2017”.


The Act is aimed at amending the Local Government Act, 2004 with the view of providing for the addition of new Districts created


Presenting the Bill prior to ratification, the Deputy Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Hadiru Ibrahim Kalokoh said that Part 1 in the recent de-amalgamation of chiefdoms and the subsequent division of the Northern Province into two provinces has resulted in the creation of two additional Districts, with one provincial headquarters. He furthered that this has necessitated the establishment of three new local councils which are currently not listed among those in the Local Government Act, 2004.


He also informed Parliament that with the advent of the de-amalgamation of chiefdoms and the re-districting, the number of chiefdoms in the Local Councils has changed, hence the need for the amendment.

MPs who spoke to the Bill described it “as non-controversial” and called for the immediate installation of Regent Chiefs in the newly created chiefdoms to avoid the interference of Paramount Chiefs in those areas, whilst expressing that the Bill is in tandem with the Provinces Act.

 The Acting Minority Leader, Hon. Jusufu B. Mansaray and the Majority Leader of the House, Hon. Leonard Fofanah expressed similar sentiments respectively.

© Copyright 2005, Freetown, Sierra Leone.