From Awareness Times Newspaper in Freetown

Local News
Sierra Leone News : Parliament Approves Two Presidential Nominees
By Jeneba V. Kabba
Jun 21, 2017, 17:04

The House of Parliament of Republic of Sierra Leone has on Tuesday 20th June 2017 approved two presidential Nominees that were interviewed on Friday 16th June 2017 at committee room one in Parliament.


The chairman of Committee on Appointments and Public Service in Parliament, who doubles as Majority Leader and Leader of Government Business, Hon. Leonard S. Fofanah in presenting the nominees to the House said that the nominees where interview base on the information received by the committee from the public, educational background, track records, tax obligations and vision in the new offices.


He added that the interview went successfully and recommended to the entire House of Parliament for approval.  

Hon. Komba E. Kodoeyoma who seconding the motion said the National Assets Commission is to improve on the registration and codification of Government’s assets in the country.


He added that there is a need to have a Government’s Assets Register to determine the use and disposables and the issues of Government’s lands and property have been in disarray over the years across the country.


Hon. Ibrahim Ben Kargbo said that President Koroma will continue to perform his statutory functions as President of Sierra Leone by appointing nominees to serve in high offices of State, whilst speaking on dilapidated and neglected buildings in the country.


He said Government should take care of it assets, including Bo School and other institutions that are in deteriorating conditions.


He informed that Government was willing to enter a helicopter business with some investors, but it was later discovered that the helipad in Freetown had been sold.


Both the Majority and Minority Leaders of the House, Hon. Leonard Fofanah and Hon. Dr. Bernadette Lahai respectively highly praised the nominees based on their expertise, whilst speaking on the composition and functions of the Commission, with the view of documenting Government’s Assets Register, including both humans and non-humans in terms of use and disposability.

The nominees are as follows;

I. Mr. Andrew Samuel Curtis Johnson, Member, National Assets and Government Property Commission and

II. Ing. Alhaji Mohamed Bailor AllieuTimbo, Member, National Assets and Government Property Commission.

© Copyright 2005, Freetown, Sierra Leone.